Applique Music in ‘The Zone’ after a decade

November 02 13:20 2021
Independent label shows no sign of slowing in 10th year.

The Manchester-based house music record label is run by British DJ and producer, Mike McGuinness, professionally known as Lempo. Applique Music was founded in July of 2011 with a series of parties at Manchester’s legendary Sankeys nightclub.

Applique is now a coveted label in the underground house scene, featuring a catalogue of over 130 releases, including material from industry stars such as Ben Pearce, Franky Wah, Jay Robinson, K-Klass, Princess Superstar, Sidney Charles, and Todd Terry – to name a few. Defined by four to the floor beats, Applique continues to deliver an eclectic array of house music, providing the goods to selectors all around the world.

Earlier this year, the label released a series of singles entitled ‘10FOR10’ to celebrate their 10th anniversary. Seeing three of the releases break into Beatport’s Top 100. ‘Dance Again’ from Lempo and Roland Clark peaked at no.22, “Love Is The Message” by EDM Tip’s front-man, Will Darling reached no.41, while ‘Neon’ by Courthouse Studios head honcho, Jon Craig, not only hit no.8, but also gained radio play on BBC Music. The follow up is equally as consistent, with the Autumn/Winter collection featuring new original singles from the current family of artists, including ‘Devil’ by French producer, Bruno Kauffmann, ‘Contrabando’ by Italian producer, Luca Lazza, and the debut single ‘Nite Flight’ by budding British producer, Petals In Sound, which broke into Beatport’s deep house Top 100 at no.40. Next-up is the much-anticipated tech house single, ‘Feel Good’ by Chris Whittaker – already generating a buzz with radio support on BBC Music.

The latest offering is aptly titled ‘The Zone’ from Lempo and American producer, Ryno. This international collaboration sees Lempo’s trademark energetic percussion, and Ryno’s ambient melodic tones combine into a beautifully crafted house gem. Ryno’s most notable released was the 2020 single, ‘For You’ on New York’s Nervous Records, which broke into both the Beatport and Traxsource house charts. Lempo’s impressive run of collaborations alongsde American artists continues – hot on the heels of ‘Turnin’ Trx’ with Princess Superstar on Applique Music, ‘Dance Without A Reason’ with Roland Clark on the iconic Strictly Rhythm label, ‘Open House’ with Chuck Roberts on Black Hole Recordings, and ‘Cheeky Sound’ with Lord KCB on Chicago’s Trax Records – all of which made an impact on Beatport’s Top 100 chart. Early tastemaker support for ‘The Zone’ has come from Sam Divine, Kryder, Brandon Block, and Don Diablo. The single is available on general release from all major download stores and streaming networks on Friday 5h November 2021.

More info:

Media Contact
Company Name: Strikeforce 360 Media
Contact Person: Jonathan Waller
Email: Send Email
Country: United Kingdom

view more articles

About Article Author